原型加工服务如何促进产品开发

产品开发的日新月异,迫使公司采取既敏捷又有效的敏捷策略。这个过程中至关重要的部分是原型的创建。如果做得正确,原型开发可以在开发过程的早期就设计可行性产生有价值的见解。因此,有效而高效的原型制作可以节省大量的成本和时间,尤其是在与经验丰富的原型加工服务相结合时。

prototype machining services - automotive lighting parts

什么是原型?

原型制作是指创建一系列预生产样品产品的过程。它们允许测试工程仿真的准确性,评估形状,装配和功能,验证可制造性(DFM和DFMA),并通过焦点小组测试市场反应。因此,进行原型设计并不意味着要创建一个完美的预生产单元,而是要从低保真塑料零件开始,一直到最终形成全功能原型的过程。在此过程中,将不断评估和迭代设计。简化迭代和持续改进过程的最有效方法之一是将制造外包给原型加工服务,该服务不仅具有所有必需的机械,而且具有帮助将这些设计迭代引导到最终产品的专业知识。

原型类型

原型分类有很多,但是下面列出的三种是物理产品开发中最常见的分类。

prototype machining services

  • 原型概念模型 –原型可以用作进一步评估概念设计的工具。如果在设计阶段之后仍然有太多可行的概念,则可以制造概念原型以从高级角度评估其外观,感觉和功能,而无需过多研究细节。CNC机械可以帮助在这些早期概念之间进行迭代,因为廉价的塑料易于加工,并且在时间和财务上的投资最少。
  • 功能和工作原型 –工作原型是为表示概念设计的所有功能而创建的全功能原型。只要有可能,使用与最终产品相同的制造技术来创建可用的原型就很重要。这样,工程师可以查看在产品开发过程的早期可能发生的制造或工程挑战可能需要进行设计更改的地方。这些原型通常包含多种材料,因此需要更广泛的制造设备来制造,而CNC机器可以加工从铝到工程塑料的许多不同材料。
  • 视觉表示原型 –创建视觉原型以通过描述产品的总体形状,尺寸,材料组成和设计来展示其设计意图。CNC机器不仅可以用于创建原型的各个组件,还可以用于为零件创建主图案,然后将其浇铸在聚氨酯中以更好地表示要在生产中使用的材料。另一个例子是使用透明的丙烯酸和聚碳酸酯加工光学透明的原型。有时使用透明的原型来展示产品的内部工作原理,同时仍然展示其外壳和结构组件的设计。

CNC加工原型的好处

可以使用从3D打印到注塑成型的多种技术来制造原型。但是,CNC加工是最好的解决方案之一,因为它在成本,速度和多功能性之间取得了很好的平衡。原型加工服务通常拥有大量的CNC机床库存,以实现最大的灵活性。当用于制造原型时,CNC机器具有一系列好处,包括:

rototype machining services - plastic part rototype machining services - metal part

  • 材料选择 –数控机床可以轻松地设置为从铝或钛等金属到 Ultem等高级工程塑料的各种材料。这意味着工程师可以灵活地用将用于最终生产部件的相同材料制造原型。因此,原型加工服务可在选择材料时提供最大的灵活性。
  • 较低的成本 –大型且笨重的原型通常使用减成技术制造成本较低,因为其他技术(例如SLS印刷)的材料和制造成本非常昂贵。此外,CNC机加工对于短生产周期也是经济的。这些短暂的生产运行可以用来评估设计在不产生重大财务风险的情况下处理规模化生产的能力。
  • 快速周转 – CNC机器可以在维护周期之间以24/7的速度运行,因此可以实现快速周转。更先进的5轴CNC机床通过限制制造过程中零件的设置和固定来进一步缩短时间。5轴机床只能通过一种设置生产完整的零件。
  • 精度 – CNC机床非常精确。对于铝制零件,公差很容易达到0.05mm至0.125mm。除了这种极高的精度外,CNC机床还能够生产出具有高质量表面光洁度的零件,从而限制了抛光和清洁等后期生产过程。

结论

制作精良的原型可以确保概念获得量产的批准,同时在大量生产之前就突出显示任何可用性和制造问题。AutoProtoWay.com  提供了广泛的原型加工服务,可帮助您专注于产品的关键设计细节

Hi, click here to contact us.

How Prototype Machining Services Can Supercharge Product Development

The ever-increasing pace of product development has forced companies to adopt an agile strategy that is both rapid and effective. A critically important part of this process is the creation of prototypes. Prototyping, if done correctly, can produce valuable insights in terms of the design viability very early on in the development process. Effective and efficient prototyping can, therefore, offer significant savings in both cost and time, especially when coupled with experienced prototype machining services.

prototype machining services - automotive lighting parts

What is a prototype?

Prototyping refers to the process of creating a range of pre-production sample products. They allow one to test the accuracy of engineering simulations, evaluate form, fit, and function, validate manufacturability (DFM & DFMA), and test market response via focus groups. As such, prototyping does not mean creating a single perfect pre-production unit, but rather it is a process that starts with low-fidelity plastic parts and moves all the way through to a final fully-functional prototype. During this process, the design is continuously evaluated and iterated upon. One of the most efficient methods of streamlining this process of iteration and continuous improvement is to outsource the manufacturing to prototype machining services that not only have all the required machinery but also the expertise to help guide these design iterations to the final product.

Types of prototypes

There are many different prototype classifications, but the three listed below are the most common in physical product development.

prototype machining services

  • Prototype concept models– Prototyping can be used as a tool to further evaluate conceptual designs. If, after the design stage, there are still too many viable concepts, concept prototypes can be manufactured to evaluate their look, feel, and functionality from a high-level perspective without delving into too much detail. CNC machines can help iterate between these early concepts since cheap plastics are easily machined and require minimal investments in time and finances.
  • Functional & working prototypes– A working prototype is a fully-functional prototype created to represent all the features of the conceptual design. Whenever possible, it is important that a working prototype be created with the same manufacturing techniques as the final product. This allows engineers to see where possible manufacturing or engineering challenges may require design changes early on in the product development process. These prototypes often contain multiple materials and thus require a wider range of manufacturing equipment to create, and CNC machines can machine many different materials from aluminium to engineering plastics.
  • Visual representation prototype– A visual prototype is created to showcase a product’s design intent by depicting its general shape, size, material makeup, and design. CNC machines can not only be used to create the individual components of the prototype but can also be used to create master patterns for parts that can then be cast in urethane to better represent the materials to be used in production. Another example is the machining of optically transparent prototypes using clear acrylic and polycarbonate. Transparent prototypes are sometimes used to showcase the internal workings of a product while still presenting the design of its enclosure and structural components.

Benefits of CNC machining prototypes

Prototypes can be manufactured using a wide range of technologies from 3D printing to injection molding. However, CNC machining is one of the best solutions, as it strikes a good balance between cost, speed, and versatility. Prototype machining services often have a large inventory of CNC machines to enable maximum flexibility. CNC machines offer a range of benefits when used to manufacture prototypes, including:

rototype machining services - plastic part rototype machining services - metal part

  • Material selection– CNC machines can easily be set up for a wide range of materials from metals like aluminium or titanium to advanced engineering plastics like Ultem. This means that engineers have the flexibility to manufacture prototypes from the same materials that will be used in the final production part. Prototype machining services thus allow for maximum flexibility when it comes to material selection.
  • Lower cost – Large and bulky prototypes are often cheaper to manufacture using subtractive technologies as the material and manufacturing cost of other technologies like SLS printing are prohibitively expensive. Further, CNC machining is also economical for short production runs. These short production runs can serve to evaluate how well the design handles scaled production without significant financial risk.
  • Fast turnaround – CNC machines can operate 24/7 in between maintenance cycles and as such allow for fast turnaround times. More advanced 5-axis CNC machines cut the time further by limiting the set-up and fixturing of parts during the manufacturing process. 5-axis machines are capable of producing a complete part in only one setup.
  • Accuracy– CNC machines are extremely accurate. Tolerances of between 0.05mm to 0.125mm are easily achievable for aluminium parts. In addition to this extreme accuracy, CNC machines are capable of producing parts with high-quality surface finishes, thus limiting post-production processes like polishing and cleaning.

In conclusion

A well-made prototype can ensure a concept gets the green light for production while simultaneously highlighting any useability and manufacturing issues well in advance of mass production. AutoProtoWay.com offers a wide range of prototype machining services that will help you focus on the critical design details of your product.

Hi, click here to contact us.